Eagles News · Figure Skaters head to states and honor seniors


(Pictured are the class of 2021 and coaches)

Today on Valentine’s Day the Combined Figure Skating team competed in their one and only district meet at the Hartland Ice House.  We also honored the 5 graduating seniors. The skaters have had a very hard time this season being juggled back and forth whether they could practice or not but even through all the obstacles of training and not knowing if they were going to have a season the Hartland United team persevered and the first time in 10 years have all three level teams qualify for States on March 28th, 2021 at the Dearborn Ice Skating Arena.

A team placed 2nd overall and learned the hard lesson of no on ice practice.  This was a unique situation for them but they all seemed to adapt and make it work.  A team Competitors were as follows: Caitlynn Curley (Freshman), Abigail Hrobsky (Junior), Emma Vermillion (Sophomore), Avrie Shettler (Senior), Amanda Vermillion (Senior and Captain), Paige Bolton (Sophomore), Erin Scheske (Junior), Samantha Peterson (Senior and Captain), Katrina Impellizzeri (Freshman), Alicia Dell (Sophomore) and Anna Zaremba (Sophomore).

The B team reclaimed their District Championship with starting off with a strong jumps and moves performance.  The B team competitors were Ella Germann (Freshman), Tami Kociuba (Sophomore), Lauren Zecchin (Freshman), Kara Buback (Sophomore), Dakota Pillera (Sophomore), Emilia Djuric (Freshman), Norah Dell (Sophomore), Jessica Witkowski (Junior), Jessica Lask (Junior), Kyra Wong (Freshman), Lindsay Harpster (Junior), Kaitlyn Bessonen (Freshman), Hannah Riley Jeannette (Junior), and Campbell Manning (Freshman)

The first time in 10 years has the C level team qualified for states.  This is due to strong showings from all the skaters.  The competitors were Emily Simmons (Sophomore), Hannah Grimes (Senior), Ally Brucato (Freshman), Madilynn Leblanc-Wakefield (Senior and Captain), Mayson Pierczynski (Freshman), and Victoria McLaughlin (Frehsman).

The 5 seniors were honored today at competition which brought tears and joy for their last district competition.  The 5 seniors are Hannah Grimes (Hartland), Avrie Shettler (Milford), Samantha Peterson (International Academy), Amanda Vermillion (South Lyon East) and Madilynn Leblanc-Wakefield (Lakeland).  We are truly blessed to have had these student athletes on our team for 4 years and can not wait to see what the future has in store for them!